Never Have I Ever Book Tag

Happy Thursday, my lovelies!
I really enjoyed my last two weeks of book tags so I’m going to continue them until I stop finding new tags.
While looking for tag posts, I found Never Have I Ever on CJR The Brit‘s Book Blog (created by Madam Writer). Be sure to check both of them out as well!


Rules

1. Link back to the original creator! (Madame Writer)
2. Link back to the person who tagged you!
3. Answer all prompts.
4. Add one more prompt of your own.
5. Tag at least five people.
6. Don’t lie.
7. Have fun!

Never have I ever…read a later book in a series before reading the first book.

Yes. I used to actively look for the very first book and refuse to read any of the newer books until I at least read book one of the series. Then I would allow myself to skip around. Well…last week I purchased Rainbow Six despite not having read any of the previous books and with NetGalley I’m sure to come across more of this type of stuff.

Never have I ever…burned a book.

No. Eh-SQUEEZE me??? (Okay, it’s a no for me, but I did hear about an edition of Fahrenheit 451 that can only be read when burned. I thought that was a pretty neato concept).

Never have I ever…read a book I knew I would hate.

No. If I knew I would hate the book, it wouldn’t come home with me. If I did somehow find a copy of something I wouldn’t like, sitting in my shelves, I probably wouldn’t read it and just blame it on “Ever piling mountain of TBR” and “Sorry, just don’t have time for it, maybe if I cleared my current TBR though 😏.”

Never have I ever…wrote a fanfiction about my favorite books.

Specifically on books? No. I’ve only ever written a sparse few fanfictions in my life; there’s a couple on fanfiction.net and a couple on Ao3 and only on games I’ve played or cartoons I’ve watched as a kid (Please tell me someone remembers Spider Riders!!) I haven’t written one in a long while, but every now and then I still get emails for kudos and that warms my heart. Take a gander at my tiny three fics on Ao3 if you’d like.

Never have I ever…loved a book when I was young and hated it when I got older.

No. I can’t say I’ve hated a book ever, but the closest would probably be Harry Potter and I certainly don’t hate it. I just fell out of love for it and can’t get back into the book. But hate? Nope.

Never have I ever…dressed up as one of my favorite literary characters.

No. I’ve seen (and love watching) this on tiktok and IG, but I’ve never been one to dress up as anything or anyone (tv shows, movie characters, etc.)

Never have I ever… hated a book by an author I love.

No. I found this out recently after reviewing my list of books I’ve read by John Sandford (10 so far). If I really like a character, no matter how bad the book is, I always end up loving it somehow. Maybe it’s a bias, but there was this one book that people didn’t seem to like (by that author) and I was actively trying to seek those points out while reading and just couldn’t find it. And I was looking for them.

Never have I ever…gone into a bookstore to buy one book and come out with many more.

No. Funny enough, I am very good at this. I grew up with the library and books as luxury so, despite having the money now, I still go to bookstores to pick only 1 book up at a time and usually as a treat.

Never have I ever…read the end of a book before reading the beginning.

Yes. I am also very good at this. I justify this by uh…quoting this one article (that I can no longer find) stating that spoiling a book can lower blood pressure and stress or some squat that may or may not actually be true. I love spoilers. Sometimes, if I’m interested in a movie but can’t sit still to watch it through, I just tell the other people (brother usually) to “Just tell me how it ends later.” I’ve never cared about spoilers in my life.

Never have I ever…read a book without the dust cover.

Yes. If it’s a library book where the cover is pretty much taped to the book and it doesn’t wiggle around, yeah I understand. But if there’s a dust cover on a book I own, 100% of the time, that guy is coming off.
I don’t do this to protect the covers. I do this because reading with them on is a hassle!

Never have I ever…skim-read nearly half the book.

No. Half the book? No. Maybe a chapter or two, but I generally don’t skim because of FOMO 😬

Never have I ever…pretended to read a book I haven’t read.

Yes. Strictly school assigned books where I was not going to miraculously finish both the book and the assignment in a span of 24 hours (procrastination) or I just wasn’t feeling the vibe and ended up cliff noting it.

Never have I ever…had a book boyfriend.

YeNo? I’m not sure. Do minor book crushes count?

Never have I ever…picked up a book based on the cover alone.

Yes. Literally speaking and picking up a book based on the cover? Pleeennttty. Like so so many.
Purchasing though, hard no. I’m super picky, so there’ll be multiple reasons I’d buy a book, but a cover might be a contributing or even deciding factor!

Never have I ever…brought multiple books in a series without having started it.

NoYe. I wouldn’t do this with individual books from a new series, but if a book is a “Volume one of XYZ series” or an omnibus, I’d definitely go for it! In fact, I have an omnibus of The Black Company! (I didn’t realize it was an omnibus when I first purchased the Kindle version though).

Never have I ever…read a book so quickly that I don’t remember what happened by the end.

No. I am a slooooowww reader. I wouldn’t gulp down a book without savoring its taste first. But I’m also a very emotional reader. If I, a slow reader, ever find myself inhaling a book in a single (or two) sittings, that must be one hell of a book and that means I would remember everything. Get ready for a word vomit review if that’s the case.

Never have I ever…recommended a book without reading it first.

No. I think I would say something like, “I heard this is very good” or “Yo, this book is trending on booktok like crazy!” but I wouldn’t recommend a book I haven’t read yet.

Never have I ever…not bought a book because it was too big.

No. I am quite the opposite. Sometimes, I buy books because they are too big. You know, gotta prepare for them apocalypses bunkers where the internet will go down along with delivery services so that means no new books and only what I own…for life (or until whatever worldly cures brings us back to the surface).

MY QUESTION:

Never have I ever…own multiple editions of a book.

Yes. I’m guilty of this. I’m tempted to get the e-book version of The Eye of the World. One of the reasons I couldn’t continue reading the physical is because it’s a pain with the font size and margin layout with the words stuck so close to the binding. I also own both the Kindle and physical of the first omnibus of The Black Company because I saw the physical paperback at Barnes and Nobles, once, and I couldn’t stop thinking about how nice it’ll be to hold it in my hands (and how it’ll look on my shelves).

I TAG:

5 thoughts on “Never Have I Ever Book Tag

    • Loved your answers! For me, Harry Potter was the biggest blow. I used to eat through those books, but now, when I’ve finally found myself a bookish community full of HP lovers, I find myself hating the series 😅

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.